Magnifying glass icon Magnifying glass icon Close icon

Beckman Foundation Announces the Final Call for Nominations for the Beckman-Argyros Award in Vision Research

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation has announced its final call for nominations for the 2019 Beckman-Argyros Award in Vision Research. The award was established in 2013 to honor and celebrate a decades-long friendship of two remarkable men, Dr. Arnold O. Beckman and Ambassador George L. Argyros, and to celebrate their commitment, dedication and shared vision toward making the world a better place. The Beckman-Argyros Award honors Ambassador Argyros for his 22 years of service as Chairman of the Board of the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation, from 1990 to 2012, and recognizes the unique friendship the two men had for over 40 years.

Presented annually, the award recognizes an individual who has made and is continuing to make significant transformative breakthroughs in vision research; particularly through the development of an innovative technology or fundamental scientific breakthrough that has been applied to, aided and/or improved the vision sciences. The award, totaling $500,000, is distributed as a $400,000 grant to the researcher’s institution and a $100,000 prize paid directly to the recipient, along with a commemorative gold medallion.

The 2019 Beckman-Argyros nomination application is now open. Nominations and application materials are due by Friday, Sept. 28, 2018. “With the selection of the 2019 Beckman-Argyros Award in Vision Research recipient, the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation will have supported six transformative vision researchers and provided 3 million dollars in support of vision research,” explained Dr. Anne Hultgren, Beckman Foundation’s Executive Director.

Former award recipients, in order of award: Krzysztof Palczewski, PhD, Case Western Reserve University; David R. Williams, PhD, University of Rochester; Jeremy Nathans, MD, PhD, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine; James G. Fujimoto, PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.