Magnifying glass icon Magnifying glass icon Close icon

2017 Class of Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellows

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation announced today its 2017 class of Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellows, individuals who underscore the Foundation’s mission of supporting basic research in the chemistry and life sciences. They were selected after a three-part review led by a panel of scientific experts.

The Foundation will award more than $2.6 million in funding for 20 exceptional research fellows from 13 universities:

- Marco Allodi, Ph.D., University of Chicago

- Beau Alward, Ph.D., Stanford University

- Kumar Ashtekar, Ph.D., Yale University

- Stephanie Barros, Ph.D., New York University

- Liela Bayeh, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

- Furqan Fazal, Ph.D., Stanford University

- Jesse Isaacman-Beck, Ph.D., Stanford University

- Cory Knoot, Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis

- Michael Lambrecht, Ph.D., Scripps Research Institute

- Danielle Mai, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

- Kira Mosher, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

- Freddy Nguyen, M.D., Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

- James Nunez, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco

- Elena Schroeter, Ph.D., North Carolina State University

- Massa Shoura, Ph.D., Stanford University

- Anna Simon, Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin

- Eric Strobel, Ph.D., Northwestern University

- Julianne Troiano, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

- William Wolf, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology

- Dianne Xiao, Ph.D., Stanford University

Supporting the next generation of researchers explore novel and unique research areas is a priority for the Foundation. We hope that these grants for high-risk projects will provide flexibility and creative freedom to these young scientists, preparing them for independent research careers.

Dr. Anne Hultgren, Executive Director of the Beckman Foundation

The Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellowship provides salary and research support to postdoctoral scholars with the highest potential for success in an independent academic career in chemistry and the life sciences, and to assist in their transition from mentored yet independent researchers to a tenure-track position. Funds for 2017 awardees will be issued this summer and extend over a period of up to three years.