Magnifying glass icon Magnifying glass icon Close icon

Beckman Foundation Announces 2019 Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellows

Fifteen Research Fellows to Receive Over $4M in Science Funding

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation announced today its 2019 class of Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellows in Chemical Sciences, individuals who underscore the Foundation’s mission of supporting basic research in the chemistry sciences.

They were selected after a three-part review led by a panel of scientific experts.

The Foundation will award more than $4 million in funding over the next three years for 15 exceptional research fellows from 11 universities:

  • Adam Slavney, Ph.D., Harvard University
  • Alexander Schuppe, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Alice Chang, Ph.D., University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • Benjamin Snyder, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
  • Dayne Swearer, Ph.D., Stanford University
  • Hossein Robatjazi, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
  • James Bour, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Julie Fenton, Ph.D., Northwestern University
  • Kangway Chuang, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco
  • Miguel Gonzalez, Ph.D., Harvard University
  • Neville Bethel, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • Quinn Burlingame, Ph.D., Princeton University
  • Patrick Smith, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Samuel Sanders, Ph.D., Harvard University
  • Stewart Mallory, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology

This program’s focus on research in the chemical sciences is a direct legacy to our Founder, Dr. Arnold O. Beckman, whose chemical instrumentation helped to revolutionize the modern chemistry laboratory and drive scientific discovery. Congratulations to all of our new awardees in the 2019 Postdoctoral Fellows Class!

Dr. Anne Hultgren, Executive Director of the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation

The Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellowship provides salary and research support to postdoctoral scholars with the highest potential for success in an independent academic career in the chemical sciences, and to assist in their transition from mentored yet independent researchers to a tenure-track position. Funds for 2019 awardees will be issued this summer and extend over a period of up to three years.