Magnifying glass icon Magnifying glass icon Close icon

Beckman Foundation Announces 2019 Beckman Young Investigator Awardees

Ten Researchers Selected to Receive $6M in Total Science Funding for Cutting-edge Research

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation announced today the selection of its 2019 class of Beckman Young Investigator Awardees from U.S. colleges and universities. The awardees exemplify the Foundation’s mission of supporting the most promising young faculty members in the early stages of their academic careers in the chemical and life sciences, particularly to foster the invention of methods, instruments and materials that will open up new avenues of research in science. They were selected from a pool of over 300 applicants after a three-part review led by a panel of scientific experts.

2019 Beckman Young Investigators

This year’s award offers $600,000 in funding over four years to each of the following researchers:

  • Keriann Backus, Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
  • Chenfeng Ke, Ph.D., Dartmouth College
  • Wesley Legant, Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Frank Leibfarth, Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Jarad Mason, Ph.D., Harvard University
  • Jia Niu, Ph.D., Boston College
  • Kimberly See, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
  • Leslie Schoop, Ph.D., Princeton University
  • Kirk Wangensteen, MD/Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
  • Brad Zuchero, Ph.D., Stanford University

Our new 2019 BYI awardees are tackling a broad range of challenges, from production of sustainable plastics and batteries, to new rapid genetic screening techniques for cancer therapies, to modeling of magnetic quantum materials, among others. We’re very excited to welcome these exceptional scientists to the Beckman family, and look forward to seeing their progress over the next few years.

Dr. Anne Hultgren, Executive Director of the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation