Magnifying glass icon Magnifying glass icon Close icon

Beckman Foundation Announces First High School Legacy Program Awardees

Five Orange County High Schoolers Receive College Scholarships Totaling $56,000

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation announced today the selection of its inaugural 2020 class of Orange County Beckman Legacy Awardees. Five high school students were awarded for their excellent lab work after building a spectrophotometer and conducting an independent research project with mentorship from their science teachers. This marks the first high school program by the Foundation, honoring the legacy of Dr. Arnold O. Beckman and his invention of the spectrophotometer, while highlighting the Foundation’s mission of supporting young scientists.

FB cover 2020 OCBLA Awardees.jpg

High schools from the Irvine and Tustin Unified School Districts were invited to participate in the program launch. The awarded students were selected after a competitive application process, which included a two-part, double-blind review by a panel of high school science teachers, college professors, and industry experts.

This year’s award is comprised of $56,000 in scholarships to support the following students:

First Place, $16,000 scholarship

  • Erica Hsueh, Northwood High School

Second Place, $12,000 scholarship, each

  • Catherine Hu, Northwood High School
  • Raj Kumar, Northwood High School

Third Place, $8,000 scholarship, each

  • Sasha Anand, Northwood High School
  • William Huang, University High School

We are tremendously proud of these young scientists and the creativity and innovation they demonstrated in their research projects.

Dr. Anne Hultgren, Executive Director of the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation

High schools from the Irvine, Tustin and Santa Ana Unified School Districts have been invited by the Foundation to participate in the program’s second year.