Magnifying glass icon Magnifying glass icon Close icon

Congratulations 2020 Beckman Scholars Program Awardees!

Twelve Institutions to Receive Over $1.5 million in Science Funding for Undergraduate Researchers

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation announced today the selection of its 2020 class of Beckman Scholars Program Awardees, U.S. colleges and universities which underscore the Foundation’s mission of supporting basic research in the chemistry and life sciences.

The institutions were selected after a rigorous application process which included a two-part review led by a panel of scientific experts.

Newsletter Image_2020 BSP.JPG

This year’s award is comprised of more than $1.5 million in funding for 61 undergraduate scholars at 12 institutions:

  • Bowdoin College
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • James Madison University
  • Miami University
  • Pomona College
  • Smith College
  • Tufts University
  • University of California, Irvine
  • University of Colorado, Boulder
  • University of Richmond
  • University of Utah
  • West Virginia University

We are excited to announce our 2020 Beckman Scholars Program award winners, representing a range of universities from across the country, and including past awardees and new institutions joining the program this year. The next cohort of Beckman Scholars will start their research projects this summer, and we can’t wait to meet them at our upcoming annual Beckman Symposium.

Dr. Anne Hultgren, Executive Director of the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation

The Beckman Scholars Program is a 15-month mentored research experience for exceptional undergraduate students in chemistry, biological sciences and interdisciplinary combinations thereof.