Magnifying glass icon Magnifying glass icon Close icon

March Is Women’s History Month

Women’s History Month is an annual celebration of women’s contributions to United States history and society. We’re celebrating by highlighting the trailblazing efforts, contributions, and accomplishments of several selected awardees from our BYI, AOB Postdoc, and BSP programs:

2023 BYI Christina Kim, PhD received a 2023 New Innovator Award and was named to MIT Technology Review Innovators under 35.

2017 AOB Postdoc Danielle Mai, PhD was named to the 2023 MIT Technology Review 35 Innovators Under 35 and received a 2023 Arthur K. Doolittle Award, American Chemical Society PMSE Division.

2016 AOB Postdoc Ariel Furst, PhD received a 2024 National Science Foundation CAREER Award, was named a 2023 AlChE, Women in Chemical Engineering (WIC) Rising Star, and received a NIH Director’s New Innovator Award for 2023.

2009 BSP and 2016 AOB Postdoc Abigail Knight, PhD, was named a 2024 Sloan Research Fellow and recipient of a 2023 Early Career Investigator Award (ACS, Division of Organic Chemistry) and 2021 NSF CAREER Award.

2009 BSP Lynne Chantranupong, PhD was awarded a 2024 Hanna Gray Fellowship (faculty phase) and holds a patent for methods of identifying modulators of Sestrin-GATOR2 interaction for modulating mTORC1 activity.

1999 BYI Claudia Turro, PhD was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and serves as Associate Editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society.

1999 BSP Carissa Bellardine Black, PhD, MBA is Sr. Director of Venture Capital at Medtronic where she previously worked as a scientist to develop devices and obtain patents for cardiac rhythm disease management.

Womens History Month