Magnifying glass icon Magnifying glass icon Close icon

Beckman Foundation Announces 2023 Beckman Scholars Program Awardees

Fourteen Institutions to Receive Over $2.1M in Science Funding for Undergraduate Researchers

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation announced today the selection of its 2023 class of Beckman Scholars Program awardees, U.S. colleges and universities which underscore the Foundation’s mission of supporting basic research in the chemistry and life sciences. The institutions were selected after a rigorous application process which included a two-part review led by a panel of scientific experts.

for blog.png

Each awardee institution will receive funding to support six Scholar-Mentor pairs, with two Scholars named per year for the three-year award term. This year’s award is comprised of more than $2.1 million in funding for 84 undergraduate Scholars at the following 14 institutions (alpha ordered):

  • California State University, East Bay
  • Fort Lewis College
  • Louisiana State University
  • Miami University
  • Mount Holyoke College
  • Oklahoma State University
  • Pomona College
  • Smith College
  • Tufts University
  • University of California, Irvine
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Richmond
  • University of Rochester
  • Washington University in St. Louis

"Historically, the applicant pool for this exceptional program has been very competitive, and this year was no exception. We look forward to meeting the 2023 cohort of Scholars at our upcoming annual Beckman Symposium and learning more about their research projects. Each of our awarded institutions have committed to hosting unique and engaging research programs for their diverse and talented undergraduate researchers and it will be exciting to see their progress during the award."

Dr. Anne Hultgren, Executive Director

The Beckman Scholars Program is a 15-month mentored research experience for exceptional undergraduate students in chemistry, biological sciences, and interdisciplinary combinations thereof.

Read it on PRweb here.