Magnifying glass icon Magnifying glass icon Close icon

Beckman Foundation Announces 2023 Beckman Young Investigator Awardees

Eleven Researchers Selected to Receive $6.6M in Total Science Funding for Cutting-edge Research

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation announced today the selection of its 2023 class of Beckman Young Investigator Awardees from U.S. colleges and universities. The awardees exemplify the Foundation’s mission of supporting the most promising young faculty members in the early stages of their academic careers in the chemical and life sciences, particularly to foster the invention of methods, instruments, and materials that will open new avenues of research in science. They were selected from a pool of nearly 200 applicants after a three-part review led by a panel of scientific experts.

This year’s award offers $600,000 in funding over four years to each of the following researchers:

Mikael Backlund, Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Steven Banik, Ph.D., Stanford University

Zachary Calamari, Ph.D., Baruch College, City of New York (CUNY)

David Hershey, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Timothy Johnstone, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz
Laure Kayser, Ph.D., University of Delaware

Christina Kim, Ph.D., University of California, Davis

Yayuan Liu, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Andrew Modzelewski, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Abdoulaye Ndao, Ph.D., Boston University

Thao Tran, Ph.D., Clemson University

“We are excited to welcome this new group of young researchers, and to support their outstanding work, amazing creativity, and future potential. Throughout the next four years, our 2023 class of Beckman Young Investigators will be tackling a broad range of problems, from exploring the use of Earth-abundant main group elements to sustainably mediate the chemical reactions that currently rely on precious metals, to developing a new molecular toolkit for identifying and quantifying protein expression in the brain, to fabricating small devices that can produce touch sensation in assistive robots and displays. We are eager to be part of these incredible projects and to see our researchers’ results,” shared Dr. Anne Hultgren, Executive Director of the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation.

2023 BYI Announcement_TW

Read the full press release on PRweb here.