Magnifying glass icon Magnifying glass icon Close icon

Beckman Foundation Announces 2021 Beckman Young Investigator Awardees

The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation announced today the selection of its 2021 class of Beckman Young Investigator Awardees from U.S. colleges and universities. The awardees exemplify the Foundation’s mission of supporting the most promising young faculty members in the early stages of their academic careers in the chemical and life sciences, particularly to foster the invention of methods, instruments, and materials that will open new avenues of research in science.

They were selected from a pool of over 250 applicants after a three-part review led by a panel of scientific experts.

This year’s award offers $600,000 in funding over four years to each of the following researchers:

Beau Alward, Ph.D., University of Houston

Roxanne Beltran, Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz

Margaret Byron, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University

Katherine Davis, Ph.D., Emory University

Robert Gilliard, Ph.D., University of Virginia

Tania Lupoli, Ph.D., New York University

Brett McGuire, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Nicolas Pégard, Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Alison Wendlandt, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Balyn Zaro, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco

Yingjie Zhang, Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

2021 BYI Announcement_Twitter.png

“We are thrilled to recognize the amazing creativity and future potential in this outstanding group of scientists. Over the next four years, they will be tackling a broad range of problems, from exploring the deep ocean soundscape with elephant seals, to determining the composition of chemical clouds in outer space,” shared Dr. Anne Hultgren, Executive Director of the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation. “We can’t wait to see the exciting work from this outstanding group of young researchers!”

Read the announcement on PRweb here.